Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

“I’m fighting for my kid…”

Today’s Minneapolis-St. Paul Star Tribune has a story on someone who might strike you as an unlikely LGBT rights activist, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh political science instructor Dr. Bill McConkey. McConkey calls himself a “Christian, straight, married, father of seven” and a life-long Republican. The twist?

I also have a gay daughter. People have asked me, would you have filed this suit if it wasn’t for your daughter? To be real honest, maybe not. Maybe I would have just ranted and raved in my classrooms and written letters to the editor and fumed off to the side. But because of her, it also became a personal issue and I feel like I’m fighting for my kid. I’m a family man above all.

Sort of takes that whole “pro-family” politico-semantic domain and looks at it from a different angle, doesn’t it? When asked how his daughter reacted to his legal challenge to Wisconsin’s Marriage Amendment, McConkey said:

She tells me that she’s really proud of me. And I’m glad she is. She did not ask me to do this. As a matter of fact, there was some trepidation on her part because we do have the same last name and worried she would be singled out for difficulty. We talked about that, and she decided it was worth the risk.

Courage, apparently, is something you learn from your parents.

(Hat tip to Box Turtle Bulletin and Timothy Kincaid.)

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

