Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

My Trans Soundtrack – Bittersweet Symphony

“Well it’s a bittersweet symphony this life…”

A month or two after I’d accepted my trans-ness, but before I’d come out to anyone, I drummed up the courage to “dress up” and go to a drag show for charity an hour or so from my home. I basked in the freedom that night, but at the same time I felt so alone. As I drove home, the mash-up of conflicting emotions gelled and became anger–at the world, at God, at myself. Then this song came on the radio. I turned it up as loud as it would go, yelled the words at my windshield, and cried until the sobs were coming so hard I had to pull off the interstate.

The video is such a metaphor for what life felt like then.

“Bittersweet Symphony” by The Verve, from Urban Hymns, 1997 (Lyrics)

6 Comments»

  pam wrote @

Ally,
This is great! I’m happily adding your blog to my feeds so I can keep up with you and your thoughts! So glad you are rejoining the blogging fray!
love and grace,
pam

  Allyson wrote @

Thanks so much for stopping by, Pam, and thanks for he encouragement!

  lucas wrote @

dude,

the blog is beee-you-tiful! love the layout. very pretty. i’m really looking forward to you being back in the blogosphere.

  Allyson wrote @

“Dude?”

Just kidding. So glad you dropped by! It’s nice to be back, virtually speaking.

  lucas wrote @

i know i thought about dude after i wrote it… then i realized that i call my wife dude. so… dude… yeah.

  Allyson wrote @

And you’re not even from Cali! Must be your natural cross-cultural gifting coming out.


Leave a Reply

