Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

Finding redemption by acceptance

Please, please read this essay by a former Guantanamo interrogator, offered on NPR’s Weekend Edition this morning as the latest installment in the “This I Believe” series. Better yet, listen to her read it herself by clicking the “Listen Now” link at the top of the page. Here’s a snippet:

There was one detainee, Mustafa, who joked that I was his favorite interrogator in the world, and I joked back that he was my favorite terrorist — and he was. He’d committed murders and did things we all wished he could take back. He asked me one day, suddenly serious, “You know everything about me, but still you do not hate me. Why?”

I’ve often thought of penning a “This I Believe” essay and sending it in (they welcome all submissions), but after listening to this one, I don’t think I will. I’m not sure there’s anything left to be said.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

