Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

My Trans Soundtrack – Won’t Get Fooled Again

We’ll be fighting in the streets
With our children at our feet
And the morals that they worship will be gone…

How did I become an activist? Good question. I’m not even sure how it happened myself. For so long, I was a part of the problem, a cog in the Machine, taking orders and drinking the Kool Aid with a smile on my face. Then somewhere, the fierce independence gene I got from my parents, sixties kids who still had stars in their eyes, got activated by the words of the ancient prophets about justice and the peaceable kingdom, and somehow I just knew I had to take it to the streets.

This song is one of my activist songs. It’s a song about a revolution gone wrong, about how the oppressed, once liberated, can so quickly devolve into oppressors. It reminds me that there’s a fine line between activism and egoism, and that the revolution isn’t over until everyone is free.

“Won’t Get Fooled Again” by The Who, from Who’s Next, 1971 (Lyrics)

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

