Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

More thoughts on pain: “What if I were gay?”

Perusing my Google Alerts today, I came across a wonderful post at the blog Emphatic Asterisk titled “What if I were Gay?”  In it, the author, a straight woman who blogs as Shush, considers what her life might have been like had she entered into a lesbian relationship when offered the opportunity at some point in her past.  Though some of my readers may not agree with everything Shush has to say, I’d like to point her out to you as someone who is really thinking, not merely (as William James said) “rearranging her prejudices.”  She’s doing the kind of imaginative, open-ended thinking that is the only possible foundation for true compassion, which is why I was so encouraged to find her today.

Shush, you’re in my RSS reader.  Thanks again!

2 Comments»

  shush wrote @

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for this post. I sincerely believe that there is no cause for judgment and cruelty, and that if we’re acting on God’s behest it should always been done out of real LOVE.

I’m adding you to my own RSS reader and I’m looking forward to learning from you and your experiences.

  Allyson wrote @

So glad you stopped by, shush! And thanks for the encouraging words. I really love your writing…you have such a gift for clarity without oversimplification.


Leave a Reply

