Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

Can I Quote You? Fred Rogers on expressing care

This is what I give. I give an expression of care every day to each child, to help him realize that he is unique. I end each program by saying, “You’ve made this day a special day by just your being you. There’s no person in the whole world like you. And I like you just the way you are.”

Fred Rogers (1928-2003), children’s television pioneer and Presbyterian minister

And a comment from me: Today would have been Fred Rogers’ 80th birthday.  I loved Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood as a child and miss his influence on the world of children as a parent today.   His message of loving affirmation blesses me even now, inspiring and challenging me to make sure the people around me–my children especially–know that they are beloved of God.  To get a dose of inspiration from Mr. Rogers, check out his Wikipedia entry and his entry at Wikiquote.  His was truly a life well lived, and he is one of my heroes.  Thank you so much, Mister Rogers, for teaching me so much about what love is.  (Thanks to The Writers Almanac.)

No comments yet»

Leave a comment