Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

Can I Quote You? Chief Justice Ron George on marriage and the state

Under these circumstances, we cannot find that retention of the traditional definition of marriage constitutes a compelling state interest.

California State Supreme Court Chief Justice Ron George, writing for the majority in today’s ruling in favor of marriage equality.

And a comment from me: Thank you, Lord. Let justice roll.

3 Comments»

  Lindsey wrote @

I squealed a little when I heard this. What a moment!

  ShannonB wrote @

I did too. Actually I squealed a LOT! I happened to be at the trans conference Esprit in Port Angeles, Wa yesterday doing my transsexual surgery presentation when I heard. We were checking news throughout the morning and my squeals of joy actually brought in a few people from the hallway to find out what was up.

  anita wrote @

Let justice roll indeed Allyson! D and I have been ashamedly not following the news in recent days and didn’t realize the California SC ruling was upcoming. We came home to three messages from friends congratulating us and so we immediately went to the TV and the internet to find out what was going on….and that was when we squealed. It was delayed but we lost in timeliness we made up for in enthusiasm. The quote by George really sums how how basic and simple this all is when you take it right to the core of the issue.


Leave a Reply

