Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

Daughter of Christian singer Steven Curtis Chapman killed in accident

I’ve been weeping since I read the news at CNN

The 5-year-old daughter of Grammy-winning Christian music star Steven Curtis Chapman was struck and killed Wednesday by a sport utility vehicle driven by her brother, authorities said.

The girl, Maria Sue, was hit in the driveway of the family’s home Wednesday afternoon by a Toyota Land Cruiser driven by her teenage brother, said Laura McPherson, a spokeswoman for the Tennessee Highway Patrol.

On a blog set up for the public to leave messages of support, Chapman’s manager wrote,

Your prayers are needed for all in the Chapman family. This is a family who has so generously loved and given to so many. Just hours before this close knit family was celebrating the engagement of the oldest daughter Emily Chapman, and were just hours away from a graduation party marking Caleb Chapman’s completion of high school. Now, they are preparing to bury a child who blew out 5 candles on a birthday cake less than 10 days ago. These words are unthinkable to type.

I can barely type through the tears.  Steven’s music has meant so much to me over the years, and his commitment to his wife and family have been a great inspiration to me.  During my last year at Truett Seminary he led our chapel services once and I was so blessed to share that with him.  Teary-eyed from the service, I approached him to shake his hand, and he reached out and gave me a big hug. 

Steven, Mary Beth, and family–you are in my prayers today and into the future.  You are so deeply loved.

4 Comments»

  Lindsey wrote @

How awful. The story of his adopting his first daughter from China really helped a friend of mine who was struggling with infertility to believe that she would still be given a family by God…

His life has been so exemplary of searching after God’s will. I can only pray that God is somewhere in all of this with them, and they will continue to realize that.

  cschellenberg wrote @

Listen when you have the chance – –

God bless,
Chris
http://chrisschellenberg.com/

  anita wrote @

Thanks for posting this Allyson. I’d read it myself early this a.m. and started to blog on it but instead I ended up headed outside for a long long walk with Chapman’s music on my headphones and my prayers for their family in my heart. I can’t imagine their grief as parents or the agony their young son must be going through. Just a total heartbreak.

  M54 wrote @

I can not imagine what the Chapman family is going through at this time. My prayer for them is that what the enemy meant for harm that they some how are able to see God glorified.

Imagine how this teenaged brother is feeling being the one driving the vehicle.

I have a grand son who was very close to my son-in-law before he was killed. Within one month of his being killed on three seperate occasions my grandson said “Hey Buddy, hey Buddy!” My daughter asked, “You see Uncle Buddy?” “He right there” came the reply each time (pointing).

By a miracle of God Almighty, I pray the Chapmans are able to have the eyes of a child to see their little girl.

Difficult to comprehend these sort of things.


Leave a Reply

