Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

Can I Quote You? Karl Menninger on what to do if you’re about to have a nervous breakdown

Lock up your house, go across the railroad tracks, find someone in need, and do something for them.

Karl Menninger (1893-1990), American psychologist.

And a comment from me: While I certainly don’t agree with all of Dr. Menninger’s ideas about psychology (particularly his thoughts on possession as a possible cause of mental illness), this particular quote seemed worth sharing.

Thanks to Garrison Keillor’s Writers Almanac for today.

1 Comment»

  Samantha wrote @

There is an old saying, you can run, but you cannot hide. I put off having a nervous breakdown for six months doing this kind of thing. When push came to shove however I found myself in the Hospital anyway. Babbling about the more I do, the more that’s wanted of me. Walk on water and suck protein from thin air? That’s not good enough!

I kept doing. More and more, for more people. Harder, faster, better, well outside what a normal human being should or could. I saw no end to this path except more pain, and my growing need to escape from it. I finally walked into the ED and said I have maybe four hours to live, you need to help me. I’m in so much trouble that another four hours of life the ways it’s been going and I’m going to put a more permanent end to my pain. I’m not going to kill myself now, but I know in four hours, I’m no longer going to be able to rationalize my way out of it.

Help me please!?!?!????

Thankfully they did. It was a long way up from there…

Sam


Leave a Reply

