Crossing the T

Life at the intersection of Church and Trans with Rev. Allyson Robinson

My Trans Soundtrack – Wunderkind

I am magnet for all kinds of deeper wonderment, I am a wunderkind.

My wife and I have always been “credits people”–you know, the ones who stay in the theater after the film is over to watch the credits? When we saw The Chronicles of Narnia–The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe in January, 2006, we quietly chatted about the movie as the credits rolled until the song “Wunderkind” began to play. It was so haunting, so poignant, so evocative that we fell silent and listened. By the time it ended, I had tears running down my cheeks. I still cry every time I hear it…in fact, I’m fighting back tears right now.

At some point along this pilgrimage of mine, I moved from simply accepting my trans-ness to valuing it, loving it. Maybe it happened when I realized that was how God felt about it. For years, when I’ve put my children to bed at night, I’ve told them, “Do you know how much God loves you? Did you know that every time God thinks about you, he smiles? Do you know how happy God is that he made you?” This song reminds me that God feels the same way about me.

The video was put together from film clips by QueenLucyThe2nd, and I think she did a fabulous job. Oh, and do read the lyrics; as with anything Alanis writes, they are beautiful and profound.

“Wunderkind” by Alanis Morissette, from The Chronicles of Narnia–The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe Soundtrack, 2005 (Lyrics)

2 Comments»

  Joyce wrote @

On the road to self acceptance, you do pass through stages, Allyson: begrudging acknowledgment, tolerance, acceptance, appreciation, love. Nice post, and I’m with you in spirit.

  Allyson wrote @

Thanks for dropping by, Joyce!

I wonder what stage comes after love?


Leave a comment